FEMA Declaration - Green Lake County

Green Lake County has been added to the list of counties that have been approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) with a federal disaster declaration due to recent flooding. The declaration means that homeowners, renters and business owners that sustained losses or damages can now apply for relief.

If people previously called the Green Lake County Human Services Department to report damage, they will now need to call FEMA to give more specific information and to see if they are eligible for financial assistance.

People wishing to register for relief can call 1-800-621-3362. They can also go online to FEMA’s website at http://www.fema.gov/ to register. If a disaster relief center opens in Green Lake County, citizens will be notified of the location and times of operation.

When you apply for diaster assistance please have the following available:

  • Social Security Number
  • Daytime telephone number where you can be reached
  • Current mailing address where you are staying
  • Address and zip code of the damaged property
  • Directions to the damaged home or property
  • Private insurance information, if available

Government disaster assistance covers basic needs only and will not normally compensate you for your entire loss. If you have insurance, the government may help pay for basic needs not covered under your insurance policy. Some disaster aid does not have to be paid back, while other assitance may come in the form of loans.



View Archives »